

3rd Annual Conference **Realigning Indian Agriculture for a Sustainable Future** March 10,11,12 2022 Bhubaneswar, Odisha

Day 1

Thursday 14.00 – 15.00	March 10 Registration
15.00 - 17.00	Session 1 – Inauguration of Conference
15.00 - 15.10	Welcome – Dr. KK Narayanan, Director - ATPBR
15.10 - 15.20	Conference overview presentation by Dr. Suren Tikoo – Independent Director – ATPBR
15.20 - 15 25	Lamp lightening
15.25 - 15.30	Honoring Chief Guest (Dr. Trilochan Mohapatra , DG- ICAR) and Guest of Honor (Dr P. K. Agrawal , Vice Chancellor, OUAT, Dr. Achyuta Samanta , Founder KIIT and KISS)
15.30 - 16.00	Inaugural Address by Dr. Trilochan Mohapatra , DG- ICAR
16.00 - 16.10	Address by Dr P. K. Agrawal, FNAAS (Vice Chancellor, OUAT)
16.10 - 16.20	Address by Dr. Achyuta Samanta (Founder KIIT and KISS)
16.20 - 16.30	Vote of Thanks – Dr. Mrutyunjay Suar (Director - School of Biotechnology KIIT University & CEO, KIIT-TBI)
16.30 - 17.00	Inauguration of Exhibition/Poster and trading desk
	Tea/coffee Break
17.00 - 17.30	Topic Dr Jackie Hughes, DG-ICRISAT (Virtually)
17.30 - 19.00	Agri Quiz
19.00 - 20.00	Cultural event
20.00 - 21.30	Networking Dinner

Day 2

Friday 09.30 – 12.15	March 11 Session 2: Sustainable Crop Improvement
Chair Co-Chair	Dr. KK Narayanan, Director, ATPBR Dr. Sundaram RM (Director, ICAR-IIRR)
09.30 - 10.30	Keynote Speaker Re-setting future priorities in seed industry (Virtually) Mr. Ram Kaundinya, Director General – Fed. Seed Industry of India (FSII)
10.30 - 11.00	Research & development for the small farmer Mr. Prashant Belgamvar (Business Director South Asia, Advanta India Ltd)
11.00 – 11.15 11.15– 11.45	Tea/Coffee Break Role of GM Crops in Food, Nutrition Security& Beyond Dr. B. M. Khadi - Ex DR, UAS, Dharwad
11.45 - 15.00	Session 3: Modern Technology & Biotic Resistance (GMO & Non-GM)
Chair Co-Chair	Dr. Mrutyunjay Suar - Director, School of Biotechn. KIIT University & CEO, KIIT-TBI) Dr K Jena - Professor Emeritus, School of Biotechnology, KIIT University, Bhubaneswar
11.45 -12.15	Exotic genes from <i>Oryza</i> species confer broad-spectrum disease & insect resistance of rice Dr. Kshirod K. Jena - Professor Emeritus, School of Biotechnology, KIIT University
12.15 - 12.45	Fusion of genomics and conventional breeding strategies towards breaking yield barrier of indica rice Dr. Meera K. Kar - Principal Scientist, ICAR-NRRI, Cuttack
13,00 - 14.00	Lunch Break
14.00 - 14.30	Modern Data Management in Plant Breeding Dr Sanjeev Panwar – Principal Scientist, ICAR
14.30 - 15.00	Topic Praveen Noojibail- MD, I&B Seeds Pvt Ltd
15.00 - 15.15	Tea/Coffee Breaks`
15.15 – 17.00	Session 4: Sustainable Farming - Agronomy Interventions
Chair Co-Chair	Mr. Prashant Belgamvar (Business Director South Asia, Advanta India Pvt Ltd) Mr. V. Ravichandran (Progressive farmer)
15.15 - 15.45	Ensuring Sustainability of organic Agriculture Dr. CL Laxmipathi Gowda , Former Deputy Director General- ICRISAT, and Co- Founder, GRSV Consulting Services

15.45 – 16.15	A no till sustainable farming for soil conservation & higher farm incomes Mr. Shekhar Bhadsavle - Founder and Managing Trustee, Saguna Rice Technique (SRT) and Saguna Rural Foundation (SRF)
16.15 – 16.45	Certification process for organic farming & how it is implemented Dr. Binay Kumar Choudhury - Chairman, control union inspection and certification India Pvt Ltd.
16.45 - 17.00	Tea/Coffee Break
17.00 - 17.30	Empowering farmers through one step post-harvest conversion Mr R.S. Hiremath - MD, Flexitron
17.30 - 18.00	Open Slot
19.30 - 22.00	ATPBR Award Ceremony (2022) followed by Gala Dinner Chief Guest: Dr. P Brahmanand Reddy, Member of Parliament
19.30 - 19.35	Chairman – Award Committee will open the session
19.35 - 19.40	Awards for Lifetime Achievement in Plant Breeding for 2021
19.40 - 19.45	Awards for Women Scientist in the Seed sector for 2021
19.45 – 19.50	Award for Excellence in Seed Industry for 2021
19.50 - 20.00	Awards for Lifetime Achievement in Plant Breeding for 2022
20.00 - 20.05	Award for Women Scientist in the Seed sector for 2022
20.05 - 20.10	Award for Excellence in Seed Industry for 2022
20.10 – 20.15 Sector	Lifetime Achievement Award to Late Mr. Dilip Gokhale for his contributions to the Seed
20.15 - 20.30	Mementoes to all sponsors
20.30 - 22.00	Cocktail Dinner
Day 3 Saturday 09.30 -11.00 Moderator	March 12 Panel Discussion: Seed Delivery System Mr. Sharad Deshpande (Managing Partner, Silvia Seeds Inc)
09.30 - 09.40	Cotton Seed Business: Impact of capped MRPs Dr. P Brahmanand Reddy, MP
09.40 - 09.50	Seed production: Challenges & Mitigations Mr. R Mallikarjun, Managing Partner, Atlas Seeds

09.50 - 10.00	Significance of efficient trialing systems Dr Hari Gopal Krishna Gutlapalli, Team Lead -PD, Kaveri Seeds
10.00- 10.10	Seed warehousing for vigour retention Mr Kiran Gubba, CEO, Gubba Cold Storage
10.10 - 11.00	Discussion
11.00 - 11.15	Break
11.15 -13.00	Panel Discussion – FPO's and Sustainable Marketing for Ensuring Higher Farmer Income
Moderator	Dr. Suren Tikoo, Co-Founder & Director Research – Breeding & Development, Tierra Seeds Pvt Ltd Director-ATPBR
11.15 - 11.25	Role of Syngenta Foundation to increase farm incomes, Dr. Partha Das Gupta (Ex Head, Syngenta Foundation, India)
11.25 - 11.35	Climate resilient production and expansion of value chain for food crops through women lead community organizations
	Dr. B. R. Athani - Founder Chairman, Gramachetana Organic Crop Producers Co-op Ltd, Bagalkot
11.35 - 11.45	The concept and successful piloting followed by implementation of the "Small Farmers, Large Field (SFLF)" model in Odisha
	Dr. Bidhan Mohapaatra, Agri-economics, IRRI, Odisha (Yet to finalize)
11.45 – 11.55	Farmer's experience – A success story Mr. Sudhanshu Kumar – Progressive farmer (Bihar)
11.55 -13.00	Discussion
13.00 - 14.00	Lunch (Exhibition and Poster display Session)
14.00 - 16.00 Moderator	Panel Discussion - Skill development & Entrepreneurship/Start-up in Agriculture Dr. M. J. Vasudeva Rao (Co-Founder - GRSV Consulting Services)
14.00-14.10	APSA
14.10 - 14.20	Title Ms. Parikrama Chowdhury, Lead for Partnerships & Impact Evaluation in Syngenta Foundation
14.20 - 14.30	Skill developments of future plant breeders Dr CLL Gowda , Former Deputy Director General- ICRISAT, and Co-Founder, GRSV Consulting Services
14.30–14.40	Prospects of Food Processing in Orisha Mr Sanjog Sahu & Ms Trupti Sahu, Founder of Matifarms
14.40 - 14.50	ATPBR activities on skill development and preparing future breeder

14.50 - 15.30	Dr Sharan Angadi, Director – ATPBR Open discussion
15.30 - 16.00	Tea/Coffee Break
16.00 - 17.00	Session 7: Valedictory Session
Chair	Dr. CLL Gowda, Former Deputy Director General- ICRISAT, and Co-Founder, GRSV
	Consulting Services
Co-Chair	Dr. Sharan Angadi, Director – ATPBR
16.15 - 17.00	Conference report presentation and recommendations – Rapporteurs
17.00 - 17.10	Closing Remarks/suggestions from Delegates and Organizers
17.10 - 17.30	General Vote of Thanks, Next Conference Info & National Anthem