5th Annual Convocation

H.E The Governor of Odisha Graces KIIT Convocation Ceremony

Total 1,557 graduates of 2009 batch of KIIT received degrees and diplomas at the Fifth Annual Convocation of KIIT on 6th December 2009Shri M. C. Bhandare, His Excellency the Governor of Orissa graced the occasion as the Chief Guest, while Dr. Hari Gautam, Chancellor, KIIT presided over the ceremony.

Speaking to the graduating students, Shri M. C. Bhandare, Chief Guest of the ceremony, reminded them of their responsibilities towards their parents and society at large. “KIIT uniquely synergizes professional knowledge with social values”, he said, while referring to Kalinga Institute of Social Sciences (KISS) as the institution’s human face and an expression of its social commitment. He advised the graduates to emulate the values of their alma mater and its Founder, Dr. A. Samanta.
Delivering the presidential address, Dr. Hari Gautam urged graduates to utilize their knowledge and strength to uplift the socially-challenged, adding that this is the best way to pay back to their alma mater and Motherland. He expressed confidence that they will bring glory to themselves, the university and the country by their contributions.

KIIT  has stepped up its institutional and industrial partnership programme, informed Prof. S. C. De Sarkar in his Vice Chancellor’s Report, adding that MoUs have been signed with as many as twelve international universities. Two new schools – School of Fashion Technology and School of Film and Media Sciences – have been started in the current academic year, he informed.

Gold and Silver Medals were awarded to 24 outstanding students as listed below :
Chancellor’s Gold Medal Winners for Securing Highest Academic Score in B.Tech, MCA, MBA, MBA (Executive) and M.Tech

T. Das, B.Tech
S. Sarkar, M.Tech
B. Khuntia, MCA
A. Dasgupta, MBA
S. K. Mahali, MBA
A. K. Sahoo, MBA (Executive)
B. Founder’s Gold Medal Winners for M.Sc. (Biotechnology) and MBA in Rural Management
S. Rout, M.Sc (Biotechnology)
S. R. Jagadale, MBA in Rural Management
C. P.K.Bal Memorial Gold Medal Winner for Best All-rounder
S. Swain, MBA
D. PPL Gold Medal Winner for Best Student in MBA with Marketing Specialization
S. K. Mahali, MBA
E. Aries Agro Gold Medal for Best Student in Agro business Specialization
S. Arya, MBA in Rural Management
F. Vice Chancellor’s Silver Medal Winners for Securing Branch-wise Highest Academic Score in B.Tech
N. Agrawal, Civil Engineering
T. Das, Computer Science and Engineering
A. Aparisima, Electrical Engineering
R. Kumar, Electronics and Electrical Engineering
S. Swayamsiddha, Electronics and Telecommunication
N. Anand, Information Technology
S. Shwetabh, Mechanical Engineering
G. Vice Chancellor’s Silver Medal Winners for Securing Branch-wise Highest Academic Score in M.Tech
D. Mohapatra, Computer Science and Engineering
B. Panda, Electrical Engineering
S. Sarkar, Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering
H. Faculty Silver Medal Winners of MBA for Securing Highest CGPA in the Concentration Area
J. Tripathy, Finance
N. Tanwir, Human Resource
S. Shrini, Marketing